The Most of Every Opportunity

This is my first WordPress post ever and I am really short on time because I need to take my son Landon to Pre-K in about 40 minutes. I really have felt an inclination to start a WordPress for a few months to post some of my longer thoughts on scripture and life lessons that is too much content for Facebook and twitter. 

This Scripture really spoke out to me this morning:

 Live wisely among those who are not believers, and make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be gracious and attractive[b] so that you will have the right response for everyone.”

– Colossians 4:5-6

The main part that challenged me was the part stating to make the most of every opportunity. Yesterday I was riding the MARTA train in downtown Atlanta and was headed home after running a half-marathon I saw a guy on the other side of the platform that I really thought I could relate to b/c of the band buttons attached to his hat and his clothes. I intentionally walked into the same train cab as him and sat towards the front hoping he would sit near me. He sat right in front of me basically facing the same direction that I was. The only problem, at first, was that he had his headphones in. I sat there praying and thinking about how I wish he didn’t have headphones in. Then about 10 minutes into the ride he takes them off! I kinda got excited and then a little nervous. How would I start the conversation? What if he was about to get off at the next stop? I didn’t want to bother him or seem religious. I really wanted to share God’s love with him but had no idea how to start the conversation.

This is the part where I wish I could share about the amazing miracle that happened when I started talking and how he accepted Christ right then and there…

This is actually what happened; He sat there without his headphones the entire way to exact same stop I got off. I said nothing. I worried the whole time about what he may think, and how he may respond. When we arrived he walked by me and disappeared off the platform. 

I felt really discouraged by that whole experience and how I wasn’t willing to step out in faith and allow the Holy Spirit to guide me in that conversation. When I read that verse in Colossians this morning it really challenged me to “make the most of every opportunity”. As I reflected about it I thought about where he may end up or how he could have died that afternoon and I said nothing. 

In closing, I plan to continue to strive to take advantage of each and every opportunity that presents itself with eternity in mind. I want to constantly keep my conversations “gracious and attractive” so that It will flow easily and I will always be prepared. We truly have the power to give life with our words, the only condition is that we have to use them. 

Leave a Reply

