Patience leaves you… Wanting Nothing

I can very easily admit that some of the hardest lessons I have had to learn in life are related to patience. I know that I am not the only one who probably feels this way as well. Its pretty safe to say that pretty much every person is born is born with a high level of innate impatience. These past few months my patience has been tried in many more ways than one.

Image

The memory that sticks out more than anything is this summer when I lost the keys to my car. I spent three days at my parents house that weekend looking over and over again and could not find them anywhere. Finally on Monday morning I looked one last time and still had no luck. I started looking into a locksmith and the cost for just 1 key was going to be more money than I even had in my account. I was at a point of frustration that really can’t be captured with words. I was LIVID.

Its funny now that I think about the situation but in the moment I was far from laughing. This was just one situation where I literally came right up to this breaking point and then right before I walked in to call the locksmith I got really candid with God. I put away all my reservations on how I thought I should pray and just flat out said everything that I really wanted to. I’m not proud of what I said but its what I felt.

I finally finished saying everything when suddenly a memory comes back to my mind from when I had shown up to my parents that I had thrown some food away as getting out of my car. I then sensed God speak to me, I imagine with a hint of humor, and He said go look in the trash can ONE more time. I did, and yes they were in there on the bag of trash I had thrown away…

That whole weekend showed me how impatient I really am and the condition of my heart in such a real way. There seems to be a common thread of events in my life that show me over and over how much I need to grow in the area of patience.

I am starting to understand more and more why God is continually growing my level of patience and endurance. The process of growth is painful just like it is in any natural process like body building or long distance running and is more than worth all the effort. Each time that we are stretched we recover even stronger. With each trial and test of patience, we get closer to the perfection and completion that God has for us.

We all have the desire for satisfaction and to have all our needs met. God teaches us patience and endurance because they are the avenue in which we find true satisfaction and contentment in this life. It doesn’t mean that everything will change and start going our way but that we will begin to respond to life in a way that truly left wanting nothing.

But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.

James 1:4

2 thoughts on “Patience leaves you… Wanting Nothing

Leave a Reply

