Thankful for a New Life

Image

This week I am not only thankful just because it is Thanksgiving but also because it is when I celebrate 3 years since my life was drastically changed. This time in 2009 I found myself at the lowest point I ever could have imagined myself to be. I had ended up sleeping outside with a few belongings just south of the Georgia Dome in Atlanta. I was not allowed to see my then 2 year old son and I thought I would never stop doing drugs. I had really given up all hope.

It was this same week three years ago that I was offered a chance to change and by God’s grace I took that chance. I have a clear picture of God reaching his hand down and pulling me out of that neighborhood where I found myself. When I finally gave my life to Christ and allowed Him he changed everything. He took my apathy and gave me a heart that now cares. He took my depression and gave me a joy that nothing can quench. He took my addiction to drugs and gave me a new zeal for Real life. He gave me a new heart. He even gave me my son back.

These verses in Psalms really remind me of what God has done in my life:

The cords of death entangled me,
the anguish of the grave came over me;
I was overcome by distress and sorrow.
Then I called on the name of the Lord:
“Lord, save me!”

 The Lord is gracious and righteous;our God is full of compassion. The Lord protects the unwary; when I was brought low, he saved me.

Psalm 116:3-6

Its so amazing to look back this week and just spend some extra time focusing on all the things I have to be thankful for. My hope is that I will never forget where God has brought me from and all the miracles He has already done. Its amazing that there was a time where I saw no future and no hope and now God has restored everything.

I am so thankful for God’s unrelenting love for me. I am thankful for my family and for their forgiveness and patience with me. I am thankful for my 5 year old son and the relationship that I now have with him. I am thankful for all my friends who support me and pray for me. I am thankful for my Job, my car (even though its broken right now) and all the opportunities that I have to do ministry. It has truly been a blessing to look back this week and reflect on all I am thankful for!

What are you thankful for today? Where were you 3 years ago?

One thought on “Thankful for a New Life

Leave a Reply

