What can we learn from a broken pen?

Image

I love to Journal. One of the reasons I held out for so long on opening up an online blog was because I thought it may keep me from writing in my journal. I love the hard copy, the mistakes and how I can look back and tell my mood simply by the way my handwriting looks that day. Its one of my favorite ways to express myself.

The other morning I sat down to write my thoughts out and a pretty typical problem came up… The pen I had grabbed was writing but seems to be blocked up or something. I sat there and did the typical scribble to try and make it work but nothing changed. I wrote my first paragraph and while it was legible it was a burden to express each and every word. I usually enjoy journaling in the morning but because of this malfunctioning pen I was actually getting more irritated than anything. 

Before I got up to find another pen I sat there and looked at the paragraph I had just written. Suddenly God showed me something really funny and interesting. He showed me how much he loves to express himself in every day situations. He also showed me how the journal represents the world and how I represent this stopped up pen sometimes. He desires to express Himself to the world around me but because of stubbornness and selfishness He is unable to. I guess he showed me how I can really be frustrating at times… 🙂

“Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him.” 

-John 7:38

We are to have rivers of living water flowing from within us. This is how God expresses himself to the word around us through the Holy Spirit that is in us. When we allow stubborness, sin, pride or disobedience into our lives we become clogged up streams that become hard for him to express himself through. We need to learn to allow the Lord to freely express himself through us each day. Then He will be able to journal freely to the world around us of His character and love.

What are some things that hinder God from using you?

 

11 thoughts on “What can we learn from a broken pen?

  1. Love this brother! God showed me something similar in my recent frustrations with Sean being such a teenager. I realized how God must feel about me when I behave like a teenager myself most of the time! Keep up the posts! You are a naturally good writer 🙂 xo

  2. Good blog! Sometimes we miss out on the little lessons because we are always looking for giant signs.

    For me, Id say (unjustified) “fear” combined with the “how could you choose me” syndrome plays as a roadblock sometimes. Although as we read the word we are told many, many times not to fear and that all things are possible with Him, it just always doesn’t keep firmly rooted in my human noggin 24/7. 🙂

Leave a Reply

