Trading our Inheritance

29 Once when Jacob was cooking some stew, Esau came in from the open country, famished.30 He said to Jacob, “Quick, let me have some of that red stew! I’m famished!” (That is why he was also called Edom.[a])31 Jacob replied, “First sell me your birthright.”32 “Look, I am about to die,” Esau said. “What good is the birthright to me?”33 But Jacob said, “Swear to me first.” So he swore an oath to him, selling his birthright to Jacob.34 Then Jacob gave Esau some bread and some lentil stew. He ate and drank, and then got up and left. So Esau despised his birthright.

Genesis Chapter 25

So many of us are no different than Esau in the story above in trading his birthrights and inheritance for a bowl of soup. So many times we think of selling every blessing and sacrificing all God has done based on a whim of emotion. It could be the temptation to cheat on our mate, hide a mistake we made at work or making an impulsive decision we know is not God’s will for our lives. I remember being in a situation this past year where I had wanted to pursue a relationship with someone and yet knew very clearly that it was out of Gods will for me. I remember even thinking about leaving everything just for the sake of pursuing this infatuation and satisfying this overwhelming desire. I had legitimate thoughts of stepping out of God’s will and it seemed the more I thought about it, the more it fed the fire of emotion within me. There were two or three specific points where my destiny reached defining crossroads and I had a very hard decision to make. Everything inside of me cried out for something but I KNEW that it would cost me my inheritance and all the blessings that God has put into my life. 

Image

Its only by Gods grace and his leading that I made it through without trading it all in to feed my immediate need for satisfaction. The food that Esau craved represents our waves of emotions or overpowering thoughts that suggest we give in to compromise and lose our inheritance as we walk with Jesus. Esau lacked patience and made a major decision on whim. We need to always remember the price that was paid for our inheritance and the value of it. Nothing in this world holds any value compared to the riches we have in store because of the blood that Christ Jesus shed for us all. 

Don’t trade in your rights to satisfy your hunger and thirst for more of whatever it might be. Admit that desire to the Father and simply give it to Him. He promises to meet all our needs. He is faithful and you can trust Him in all circumstances. 

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

 Philippians 4:19

One thought on “Trading our Inheritance

Leave a Reply

