I have been so busy moving these last few weeks that I have rarely had time (or wifi) to get on and blog and have deeply missed sharing my more elongated thoughts here with you all. I don’t really have anything huge on my mind or really planned out so I guess I will just share what I sense the Lord is really showing me right now…

Image

These past three weeks I have been in a new city at a new job with a lot of new exciting things as my fingertips. One thing that comes with the new territory is that I really don’t know anyone here and have encountered a deep loneliness. At first it was a really awkward thing to not have anything social planned or to really do but then I began to feel this strong urge to just seek the Lord in my free time. As I began to spend time with Him in prayer and in times of worship I began seeing how refreshing this down time was. I started also seeing more clearly that all my insane business that I had been living in was bringing me to a point of utter exhaustion and I really had no idea until I stopped it all. When I stopped I realized how tired I really was.

What began as a really lonely time has actually turned out to be one of the most refreshing and fulfilling times I have EVER had in my life. It seems the more time I spend with the Father, the more I just want to get away and spend time with Him. In His presence I find clarity, peace and am made to become more and more like Him. It is where I can organize the inner life and regain a  true perspective of the world around me. Its amazing how blurred my vision can become in the wake of unhealthy business.

The last thing I want to share that He has been showing me is the importance of finding that quiet place with Him. So often I have to have music or something playing in the background. I always have to be thinking on something, working towards a goal, cooking, cleaning, watching, talking to feel sane. The moment I sit still and in total silence my inner voice screams, “DO SOMETHING!!!” What I am now seeing is that I have been really missing out on the many benefits from a vitally important spiritual discipline that I have been long overlooking.

I have to admit that I really literally just had this revelation and haven’t become successful at it quite yet. I still have a hard time getting my mind to become still even after waiting in quietness for 15-20 minutes. What I can say is that I commit to pursue this discipline because I believe that along the path of its pursuit there are invaluable treasures waiting to be found.

What’s your experience with stillness and how do you respond to the quiet places in your life (if there even are any)?

2 thoughts on “A Quite Place

  1. Brother, I read your words and I see so much of my own struggles with quietness in what you say. I’m grateful you are willing to share your journey and I know God is going to bless and use you to continue to bless others. You certainly bless me! I have always had a hard time with quiet too! I like music and noise in the background when I’m working at home alone just like you. But I have found like you that when I get quiet and listen; when I take those precious minutes and seek God, read His word and ask His blessings that I feel more fulfilled in other areas of my life. Give yourself room to grow. You have grown sooooo much! I remember in Haiti craving alone time with God to get the strength I needed to make it through each day there. Since coming home,I have found for me if I will discipline myself every day for at least 15 minutes of quiet and reading that I crave more. That learning about God and wanting to know His will for me is one of the greatest rewards we can know on this earth. I even found a great reading plan on youversion.com that is called 100 days of discipline and am grateful I have not given up on it and I’m at day 77!!! When you feel lonely and want to talk remember I’m a phone call or text away! Especially now that you have moved out of the no cell phone service zone! Love you and sooooo stinkin proud to call you my brother!!! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

