I have such a burden on my heart to see the whole Body of Christ come together in perfect love and unity. I believe that Jesus is going to come back for a pure, spotless and undivided Bride. I believe that upon His return the Church will be at its greatest moment in history in the areas of purity, love and unity. It seems so clear that Jesus saw all of the impending confusion and division and that is why he prayed so earnestly in John 17 for God to place His love in us so that we can love each other.

In May of this year we had a the first of a now monthly city-wide prayer gathering for the area that I live in. Towards the end of the night as people were praying the Lord showed me a powerful vision that took me by surprise. In the vision I saw  a woman, like a doll, scattered in pieces all over the floor. The image was sickening. As I looked at this horrible image I felt the Holy Spirit say so clearly to me, “This is what my Bride looks like.” He showed me that this is how we are as the church. We are scattered, torn and separated by misunderstandings, fear, bitterness, jealousy, self-righteousness, prejudice and many other things. My heart broke as I began to feel the heart of God on the issue. I could see how earnestly He desired that we as the Body of Christ would come together as the beautiful, unified Bride the Jesus deserves.

Image

There is so much I could say in my own opinions on this subject but that would probably be more of a book rather than a short blog post. My hope is that we can somehow come together and agree that we agree on the important things and that its okay that we disagree on the lesser details. I hope that as we learn to love one another in spite of our differences that more people would be attracted to coming to Jesus as well.

Here are just a few things I found in the Scriptures to help us all in this area…

  • We need to earn to earnestly pray and make every effort to keep unity within the Church (Eph 4:2).
  • We need honor one other and esteem others higher than ourselves (Phil 2:1-4, Rom 12:10).
  • We need to practice humility and attempt to be like minded (Col 3:12)
  • We need to avoid provoking one another and becoming conceited (Gal 5:2)
  • Go to to a brother/ sister privately and in love whenever you have a conflict with them. (Matt 18)

Do all things without grumbling or disputing,  that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world (Phillipians 2:14-15)

Leave a Reply

