Last thursday I was at a local Teen Challenge Thrift Store grand opening and saw God do something miraculous while waiting in line. I wanted to share this story because I really think it will be an encouragement to others to allow God to use them more in every day situations and also to show how amazing our God is!

The line at the grand opening was really long because so many people had come to see the new store and show support for Teen Challenge. I found a couple of items I liked and eventually got in the line knowing I would probably be waiting for quite some time. As I waited I started talking to the woman who was right in front of me. She began to share with me about her life, her kids and where she was from. Her name was Gladys. 

When I first began talking to her I felt like the Holy Spirit spoke to me in a quiet whisper and simply said the word, “Elbow.” I remember thinking to myself that maybe God was trying to tell me that I should pray for this woman’s elbow but thought that was just craziness or some weird idea I had. I hate to admit it but I kinda just ignored it and kept talking to this woman for the next 15 minutes or so. 

Suddenly while talking with her it’s as if the Holy Spirit got my attention and reminded me again with one simple word. The word he said was, “Elbow” and that was it. (It’s kinda funny looking back at it now…) I had no other clues or anything; just a simple word. So finally I got the hint and asked her with a smile if her elbow was hurting. She stopped with shock and said, “Yes! and my shoulder has been really bothering me too!” I told her I felt like God told me that her elbow was hurting and asked if I could maybe pray for her. At this moment the other shoppers around were just staring at me like I was a crazy person.

I put my hand on her shoulder and began to pray out loud. I commanded her shoulder in Jesus name to be healed and for all pain to leave. As I was praying I literally began to feel something underneath her skin move. Her shoulder did not move, her arm did not move… It was something in her skin that seemingly popped up and literally moved my hand. In shock I backed up and asked her, “Did you feel that???” She was shocked and told me yes. Then she began to move her arm around and started crying. She said that all the pain in her shoulder and elbow was completely gone!photo

Once that happened another woman who was also in line began to shout, “Thank you Jesus!!!” I began to agree with her and so did Gladys who had just been healed by God. Right there in this line, with everyone watching we all began to shout and praise God! We started to have “church” right there in that line and Jesus was made famous in front of everyone who was in that line. Afterwards she told me she was so thankful because now she could go home and get some work done. She told me that she was so blessed because she was reminded that God cared so much for her and that He saw every need that she had. 

And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well…

James 5:15

Leave a Reply

