5 years of Freedom

This weekend I am celebrating five years of freedom. I have found freedom from not only numerous addictions but also bitterness, anger and so much more. I once was plagued with anxiety that would literally cripple me but now I have peace and joy. Today I have hope because Jesus found me in the most pathetic of conditions and HE gave me a hope and a future. He took all my scabs, wounds and
diseases and turned them into beautiful scars.

Andrew chalmersMy own past is hard for me to look at sometimes. I still remember things with a sense of regret. The beautiful thing about what God has done with these things is that He has healed them and made them all new. These scars all have a new “layer of skin” that demonstrates that God is truly my healer. I don’t fear talking about them now because when people look at these scars they no longer can see just my past but they can also see all that God has done to bring hope and healing. These scars show others that God is real and He is really good.

Five years ago this weekend I had a long list of labels stitched into the fabric of my life. Some said, “addict” others said things like “depressed” and “criminal”. I had a whole stack of diagnoses and mess ups that defined my future for me. They told me what I could expect and what was to come. I felt hopeless.

The beautiful thing is that five years ago this weekend something so unexpected happened. God began to reveal His love and power to me. He began to show me that even in my pathetic situation He wanted me to be His friend. Jesus pursued me and loved me even when I put my middle finger up in His face and said, “I HATE YOU.” The Father cried out “come home son” with an open hand pleading for me to simply approach Him even when I was running the opposite way. God’s relentless love is what pursued me and changed my heart forever.

I was surprised and caught off guard when I encountered God’s love. It loved when I hated. It ran after me when I ran away. It gave me Hope when I wanted to give up and felt so worthless. It gave me courage when I was ready to give up completely.

I was surprised and caught off guard when I encountered Gods love. It loved when I hated. It ran after me when I ran away. It gave me Hope when I wanted to give up and felt so worthless. It gave me courage when I was ready to give up completely.

It was Gods love that changed me, healed me and delivered me from my past. His love is what has sustained me for the last five years. His love is what I think about and talk about because today it is all that really matters. I am forever grateful for His great love for me. I am blown away that a Perfect Father has loved me and accepted me for exactly who I am, who I was and who I will be.

One thought on “5 years of Freedom

Leave a Reply

