Treasure Found

This past weekend we hosted an event called Take the City which happens monthly in the Columbus, GA area. Each month we take teams out all over this community to go and share the love of Christ with people in practical ways. This month we did a holiday outreach and got to bless some local quick-stop gas stations by cleaning there bathrooms, giving out candy canes and we sand them Christmas carols. It was amazing to see God move powerfully in these quick-stops as we loved people with no strings attached!

Before we left for our outreach we prayed and ask God to give us clues for people that we may encounter along the way. I had a list of things that lead me to believe that we were to go to this one particular gas station and that I would meet a woman that matched a description that God gave me.

After blessing the gas station we gathered our cleaning stuff and started to leave. As we left I noticed a red for truck right in front of the gas station. This caught my attention because I had written down “red ford truck” on my piece of paper. As we began to drive off I looked back towards the gas station and suddenly noticed a woman walking towards the gas station that matched my description. I jumped out of the car and went over to her filled with excitement.

I started to tell her that God had led me to this gas station and had shown me that I was going to meet a woman that matched her description. I told her that God thought she was so special that HE directed me straight to her to just tell her that He loves her SO much. She began to cry as I told her about how God had lead me to her and how much he cared. Her name was Ms Brenda Jones.

treasurehuntI showed her the “clues” I had written on paper and how she matched many of the things I had written down. One of the things I had written down was “neck” problems which she began to tell me that she had frequent issues with her neck. I then was able to pray for her and bless her.

Then before I left her friend walked up and said, “I need prayer!” So we both began to pray for her friend and she began to weep as God’s presence began to fill her with peace. In fact as we prayed the woman started to feel so overcome by God’s presence that she started to fall over and Ms Brenda had to hold her up. Then we all had a big group hug and we were all filled with joy at all that God had done in each of our lives in a matter of 10 minutes.

It was amazing to see how God lead me to these women and how much of a blessing it was for me to get to meet them. During this Holiday season as we celebrate Jesus begin to ask the Lord how you can be a blessing to those around you. Maybe God will give you clues of someone that needs a simple encouragement during the business of this season. Maybe He will direct you to bless someone by buying them their christmas gifts in the line at Walmart. It will be unforgettable to watch CHRISTmas joy released everywhere in the midst of a world that is in such great need of hope and joy.

One thought on “Treasure Found

  1. Andrew! This is a wonderful story and one that all who are reading could surely experience themselves simply by heeding the help of God in our daily path. There are many who need a kind word or smile and that would change the day for those receiving it! I will always think of you and this beautiful story whenever I see a red truck!

Leave a Reply

